History of Anhui
Index Page
First posted on December 8th 2004, last revised on November 19th 2006

Timeline : Anhui

605 Excavation of the Grand Canal
1368-1644 Ming Dynasty; Nanzhili directly administered area near southern capital of Nanjing
1644 Manchu conquest of China; Nanzhili Priovince renamed Jiangnan
1666 Jiangnan Province split into Anhui, Jiangsu
1851-1864 Taiping Rebellion, which directly affected Anhui and inspired the Nian Rebellion (Anhui , Henan , SW Shandong, N Jiangsu)
1853-1868 Nian Rebellion (Anhui , Henan , SW Shandong, N Jiangsu)
1853-1862 Hefei capital of Anhui
1876 Wuhu opened to international trade
1898 Quishi Academy, predecessor of Anhui Normal University, established
1900-1901 Boxer Rebellion
1911 Chinese Revolution
1927 City captured by Nationalist forces
1928 Anhui University founded
1937-1945 Japanese ocupation
1945-1948 Anhui under Nationalist Chinese administration
1946 Province capital moved from Anqing to Anfei
1946 Catholic Vicariate Apostolic of Nganhoei/Wuhu elevated to Diocesis of Wuhu
1949 Communist victory in China's Civil War; establishment of PRC
1949 Anhui split in Wanbei, Wannan
1949 Wuhu Cigarette Factory established
1949-1954 Anhui part of China's East China Region
1952 Wanbei, Wannan merged to form Anhui; capital Hefei
1958 Hefei Univ. of Technology (present Anhui Univ. of Science and Technology) established; predecessor of 1945)
1993 Wuhu Economic and Technological Development Zone dedicated

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics