Minden-Ravensberg, 1740-1815

During the SEVEN YEARS WAR, Minden-Ravensberg briefly was occupied by the French (1757). In 1802/1803 Prussia's Westphalian possessions were enlarged by the annexation of Paderborn and much of the Princebishopric of Münster. In 1807 Prussia, in the PEACE OF TILSIT, had to cede all lands west of the Elbe River. Minden-Ravensberg were incorporated into the KINGDOM OF WESTPHALIA (1807). In 1810 Westphalia ceded Minden and small parts of Ravensberg to France, but held on to the remainder. In 1813, the region reverted to Prussian rule.

By the second half of the 18th century, Minden-Ravensberg had lost much of her territorial autonomy, as expressed in the fact that no more coins were minted here.

Counts of Ravensberg
Friedrich (1740-1786)
Friedrich Wilhelm (1786-1797)
Friedrich Wilhelm (1797-1840)

Geschichte von Bielefeld, from bielefeld.de, in German
Article Minden from Catholic Encyclopedia
DOCUMENTS Map of Ravensberg 1789, posted by Thomas Hoeckmann; another map 1789, posted on The German Reigning Houses by Val Rozn
Map : Westphalia in 1803, posted by The German Reigning Houses by Val Rozn
Map : Central Europe 1812, posted by The German Reigning Houses by Val Rozn
REFERENCE Territorien-Ploetz : Geschichte der Deutschen Länder, Vol.1, Würzburg 1964, pp.401-402

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted on January 3rd 2002, last revised on November 12th 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics

Impressum · Datenschutz