1648-1815 1815-1866

Principality of Nassau, 1815-1866

The VIENNA CONGRESS of 1815 confirmed the Principality of Nassau in new borders, without the economically important Siegerland, now Prussian, but significantly expanded as compared to 1789. The line of NASSAU-USINGEN ended in 1816, placing the territory under one line of princes. The capital was WIESBADEN. In 1823, Nassau had a population of 303,000.
Nassau adopted a CONSTITUTION in 1814 and joined the ZOLLVEREIN in 1836. In 1866, Nassau sided with Austria against Prussia; after the Prussian victory, the Prince of Nassau was deposed, his country annexed by Prussia.

Princes of Nassau
Wilhelm (1816-1839)
Adolf (1839-1866)

Wiesbaden's Geschichte in Stichworten, from Wiesbaden Homepage in German
DOCUMENTS Counts, Dukes, Princes of Nassau, from friesian.com
Map of Nassau, 1820, from IEG Maps
Flag of Nassau, from FOTW
Princes of Nassau, from World Statesmen by Ben Cahoon
Article Nassau, from W. Gracie, General Gazetteer, 1823

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted on January 3rd 2002, last revised on November 12th 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics

Impressum · Datenschutz