before 1850 History of the Pacific Islands 1893-1918

The Solomon Islands 1850-1893

Anglican missionaries arrived in the 1850es; they established permanent mission stations in the 1870es.
In 1884 Germany established a colony in the Bismarck Archipelago and northeastern New Guinea; they also claimed a part of the Solomon Islands and Britain and Germany agreed to respect their mutual spheres of interest, Germany receiving the northern 4 islands (Bougainville, Buka, Isabel and Choiseul.
In 1893 Britain formally established a protectorate over the southern Solomon Islands (New Georgia, Guadalcanal, Malaita, San Cristobal).

History of the Solomon Islands, from Infoplease

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted on January 13th 2002, last revised on November 5th 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics

Impressum · Datenschutz