1500-1721 1815-1890

Greenland, 1721-1815

In 1720, Greenland (at that time only a Danish claim) was administratively merged with the Faroe Islands to form a united province, headed by a governor. In 1776 Greenland was separated from the Faroes.
Since 1652, the Danish monarchs had shown their interest in the island which centuries ago used to be a Norwegian colony. In 1721, HANS EGEDE, the "apostle of the Eskimos", began converting Greenlanders to the Lutheran belief. Missionary work was accompanied by economic enterprises, i.e. the establishment of trading factories at CHRISTIANEHAAB (1734), JACOBSHAVN (1741), FREDERIKSHAAB (1742). The Danish merchants were mainly interested in acquiring fur of seals etc., ivory and other natural products. The waters off Greenland also proved rich fishing and whaling grounds.
In 1775 the government established a monopoly over the Greenland trade, granted to the ROYAL GREENLAND TRADE COMPANY (property of the Danish state), which simultaneously was given the task of administrating the province.

DOCUMENTS Article Greenland, from Catholic Encyclopedia
List of Inspectors for South and North Greenland respectively, from World Statesmen by Ben Cahoon

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted in 2000, last revised on November 8th 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics