The Council until 1969

Nordic Council since 1969

In 1971 the NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERS was founded, in order to improve on political cooperation between the governments. A secretariat was established in Oslo in 1973. The ÅLAND ISLANDS (autonomous, Swedish-speaking, belonging to Finland) are represented since 1970, Greenland (autonomous since 1979, belonging to Denmark).
Unlike the EU, the aim of the Nordic Council is not political integration, but the improvement of relations between the Nordic nations, which share a common policy emphasizing social welfare, the promotion of peace worldwide, a common policy to combat the abuse of alcohol, tobacco etc.
In the aftermath of the dissolution of the USSR (1991), the three Baltic Republics (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania) applied for membership.

History of the Nordic Region, from Nordic Council

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted on January 4th 2002, last revised on November 8th 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics