Burma 1824-1852 Burma 1886-1918

Upper Burma, 1852-1886

After having lost the southern provinces in the SECOND ANGLO-BURMESE WAR of 1852, Burma was reduced to the upper Irawaddy valley (UPPER BURMA). In 1853 King MINDON MIN (-1878) ascended to the throne; he established a new capital at MANDALAY, modernized the administration of the country. In 1862, Britain and Upper Burma established diplomatic relations. In 1867 a treaty was signed on trade and diplomatic relations with Upper Burma.
Under Mindon Min's successor THIBAW, Anglo-Burmese relations deteriorated; in Brtain's view, Burma violated the treaty of 1867 by creating monopolies which placed British merchants at a disadvantage. The British resident in Mandalay was withdrawn. In the THIRD ANGLO-BURMESE WAR of 1885, the country was conquered, in 1886 formally annexed by the British.

Timeline Burma, 1057-2002, from BBC News
History of Myanmar : Colonial Times, from Asia Tours
Article Burma, from EB 1911
Kings of Upper Burma, from World Statesmen, by Ben Cahoon
DOCUMENTS Peacock Flag, from FOTW

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted on May 17th 2002, last evised on November 3rd 2004

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics

Impressum · Datenschutz