before 1891 History of West Africa 1919-1939

Guinea a separate colony, 1891-1918

In 1890/91, Guinea was separated from Senegal and established a distinct French colony. Border treaties with Britain (Sierra Leone, 1882), Liberia (1895) and Portugal (Portuguese Guinea) fixed the colony's new borders. In the east, the colony was extended by the conquest of SAMORI TOURE's Empire, which the French split among their colonies of Guinea, Mali and Cote d'Ivoire; Samori Toure was taken prisoner in 1898.
The seat of administration was CONAKRY. A railway line was built to open up the colony's interior.
In 1895/1904, Senegal, Guinea, Upper Senegal & Niger, the Ivory Coast, Dahomey and < HREF = "xmauritania.html">Mauritania were joined to form FRENCH WEST AFRICA. The seat of the governor-general was first Saint-Louis, then Dakar, both located in Senegal. The railroad connecting Conakry with Kurussa on the Niger River was begun in 1900 and completed in 1910.

Guinea, History of, from Infoplease
Conakry, from Infoplease
French West Africa, from Infoplease
REFERENCE Article : French Sudan, Senegal, French Guinea & Dependencies, in : Statesman's Year Book 1895 pp.522-523 [G]
Article : Senegal, French Sudan, French Guinea & Dahomey, in : Statesman's Year Book 1898 pp.519-522 [G]
Article : West Africa and the Sahara : Guinea, in : Statesman's Year Book 1901 pp.598-601, 1905 pp.660-667, 1910 pp.804-810, 1918 p.866 [G]
Article : French Guinea, in : International Year Book 1898 p.336, 1899 p.349, 1900 p.369 [G]
Article : French Guinea, in : New International Year Book 1907 pp.286-287, 1908 p.267, 1909 p.265, 1913 p.268, 1914 p.274, 1916 pp.248-249, 1918 p.232 [G]

This page is part of World History at KMLA
First posted in 2001, last revised on September 17th 2008

Click here to go Home
Click here to go to Information about KMLA, WHKMLA, the author and webmaster
Click here to go to Statistics

Impressum · Datenschutz